Our Governors

The Governing Body is made up of a group of volunteers whose role is to work as a team to monitor, support, and challenge the school and its senior leaders so as to improve and provide the very best outcomes for pupils.

The full governing body meets once a term and much of their work is carried out at either individual or small committee level. Our governors take lead roles in particular areas: literacy and numeracy, curriculum, finance, Catholicity, safeguarding, SEN, health and safety, pupil premium, equality, HR, admissions, and community engagement.

They report to parents on the school’s achievements and respond to inspection recommendations. They hear appeals from students and staff and consider complaints.

Governors provide the headteacher with support and advice, drawing on their knowledge and experience. They ask searching questions and respect the headteacher’s position as professional leader of the school.

Since St Thomas’ is part of the Kent Catholic Schools Partnership (KCSP), a multi-academy trust, its governance arrangements are regulated by the KCSP Governance Handbook, which includes the Scheme of Delegation and Terms of Reference. St Thomas’ has a Local Governing Body (LGB) which operates as a sub-committee of the KCSP Trust Board, to whom they are accountable.

KCSP’s Shared Vision and Strategy for all their academies can be viewed here.

Together with the headteacher and the KCSP Trust Board, the governors of St Thomas’ set the future strategic direction for the school. They take local decisions on matters such as the school’s improvement plan, and also ensures compliance with KCSP’s policies.

Our Foundation Governors have been appointed in the name of the archbishop of Southwark and have a duty to preserve and develop the Catholic character of the school. The period of appointment is 4 years.

Staff Governors, like all governors, are volunteers and are elected by their colleagues. They must be employed by St Thomas’, and their period of appointment is 4 years.

Parent Governors are elected from amongst parents and carers of pupils at the school. They must have a child at the school at the time of the election but do not need to stand down if their child leaves the school. Again, the period of office is 4 years.

“[KCSP’s] core purpose is to increase the number of children and young people participating in Catholic education, keeping them safe and offering pupils the opportunity to grow in confidence and maximise their potential. The Trust aims to make our academies not only places of outstanding learning but also places where Catholic faith is both taught and nurtured.” 

Governance Handbook October 2019

Governors’ Scheme of Delegation October 2019

Local Governing Body – Terms of Reference- October 2019

Below is our current Local Governing Body:

Dr Clare CopelandFoundation GovernorArchdiocese of Southwark06.02.2020 – 05.02.2024Equality
Literacy & Numeracy (Deputy)
Curriculum (Deputy)
1/1Form completed – twins in Year 2
Mr Mark
Parent GovernorElected by parent bodyFinance1/1Children in Years 6, 4 and R
Mrs Gina
Staff GovernorElected by members of staff17.10.17 – 16.10.21
1/1Form completed – no interests to report 
Father David GibbonsFoundation GovernorArchdiocese of Southwark14.11.16 – 13.11.20Catholicity1/1Form completed – no interests to report 
Mrs Catherine IngramVice Chair of Governors – Foundation GovernorArchdiocese of Southwark18.04.19- -17.04.23
    Health & Safety
    AdmissionsSafeguarding (Deputy)

SEN (Deputy)
1/1Form completed – One childin Y5 and another in Y3. 
Mrs Ann LivingstonFoundation GovernorArchdiocese of Southwark Safeguarding
Engagement (Deputy)
Deacon Neil PhilipsonFoundation GovernorArchdiocese of Southwark11.09.19 – 10.09.23

    Health & Safety (Deputy)

    Safeguarding (Deputy)
1/1Form completed – one child in Y6.  
Mrs Patricia PiningtonFoundation GovernorArchdiocese of Southwark01.08.18 – 31.07.22

    Pupil Premium (Deputy)

    Catholicity (Deputy)

1/1Form completed – no interests to report 
Dr Simon HughesFoundation GovernorArchdiocese of SouthwarkLiteracy & Numeracy1/1I am appointed by the Archbishop as his education professional to ensure all processes and matters relating to Catholic schools in his Diocese are conducted in accordance with Canon and Civil Law. This includes overseeing the process for Catholic School Inspection in the Diocese (s48). I was an employee of a predecessor company Pearson Publishing. Anspear produces and distributes the Firm Foundations app which the Diocese procured free for all Foundation Governors in our schools. While I used to receive royalties for material published from this company, none of my writing is included in Firm Foundations so I no longer receive royalties.
Mrs Madeleine BusvineStaff GovernorElected by members of staff22.09.20 – 21.09.24Pupil Premium1/1My husband is Mayor of Sevenoaks, so I am Mayoress until May 2021
Jacqueline Nunes (Clerk)
c/o St Thomas’ Catholic Primary School
South Park
TN13 1EH

Chair of Governors
c/o St Thomas’ Catholic Primary School
South Park
TN13 1EH


Admissions Arrangements
Accessibility plan
Behaviour Policy
First Aid Policy
SEN policy
Sex and Relationship Education Policy

Past Governors:

NameDate of AppointmentDate of Stepping DownType of GovernorAttendanceResponsibilities
Mr ChrisWright20.06.2017.07.20Ex-officio (Interim Headteacher)2/2All
Mrs Michele McQueen18.07.1618.07.2020Parent Governor7/7 (2019-2020)Vice Chair of
Mrs Sarah Lowndes18.07.1628.01.2020Parent Governor1/2 (2019-2020)Safeguarding
Mr Daniel Wills28.11.1812.11.2019Foundation Governor1/1 (2019-2020)
Chair of Governors
Mrs Elizabeth Williams01.02.1612.11.2019Foundation Governor 1/1 (2019-2020)
Please contact us if you'd like more information about St.Thomas'