Scroll to content
School Logo

St Thomas’ Catholic Primary School

Learning in the light of Christ.

Interactive Bar

Quick Links




Your child will be following the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum throughout the Reception year. The structure of the day will be very similar to your child’s pre-school experience, particularly in the first term, with lots of play and practical activities. The amount of time spent in adult-directed activities increases gradually as the school year goes on.


The EYFS curriculum is broken down into seven areas of learning:

There are three ‘Prime’ curriculum areas in the EYFS curriculum; Personal, Social and Emotional DevelopmentPhysical Development and Communication and Language. These three areas underpin the learning in all other areas, laying the foundations for more ‘academic’ learning. If a child can’t share, take turns, follow instructions or listen attentively it makes learning to read and write much more difficult.


At the start of each term you will receive a curriculum letter outlining the kinds of activities your child will be experiencing at school and suggesting ways you can give support. It can be difficult to be specific about this as we plan from the children’s ever-changing interests. The EEXAT online journals give you a flavour of what has been covered in class during the week and may include questions to use as a prompt when talking about school with your child.

Our Mission and Values

'Learning in the Light of Christ'

Read Our Values And Ethos


Trust Information

St Thomas' Catholic School is an academy, and part of the Kent Catholic Schools’ Partnership. The Kent Catholic Schools’ Partnership is an exempt charity and a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales under company registration number 08176019 at registered address: Barham Court, Teston, Maidstone, Kent, ME18 5BZ. St Thomas’ Catholic School is a business name of Kent Catholic Schools’ Partnership.