Scroll to content
School Logo

St Thomas’ Catholic Primary School

Learning in the light of Christ.

Interactive Bar

Quick Links



Welcome to our Local Governance Committee section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


KCSP Governance Model


Kent Catholic Schools' Partnership is a charitable trust and a company limited by guarantee.  The Trust was established in August 2012 by the Archbishop of Southwark.

The Trust Board of Directors ('Trustees') are responsible for overseeing the management and administration of the Trust and they fulfil this role by delegating functions to committees.

The Trust understands the importance of the role of governance committees and the Trust has set out guidance and support in its Governance Handbook and Scheme of Delegation.




The school has a Local Governance Committee.


The Governance Committee is a 'critical friend' of the school.  It provides Strategic Leadership in school improvement.  It does this by being appropriately involved in the school improvement cycle as follows:

1. Developing and sharing the values and vision.

2. Setting out the aims and objectives of the school.

3. Setting out the policies and procedures by which the aims and objectives will be achieved.

4. Establishing the criteria by which the aims and achievements will be seen to be achieved.

5. Taking the views of stakeholders into account.

6. Evaluating the evidence on how well the school is doing.

7. Finding out how well the school is doing in comparison to similar schools.

8. Agreeing targets for improvement.

9. Planning to achieve improvement.

10. Ensuring that deployment of staffing and resources match the school's priorities.


Key Issues

The governance committee will consider and keep under review: the progress and attainment of all groups of pupils, evidence of narrowing gaps between under achieving groups and other pupils, improvements in the quality of teaching, the school's improvement since the last inspection, and the school's self-evaluation of how well it is doing currently.  Governance committee members are not expected to be involved in the day to day running of the school.


Who can be a governance committee member?

  • Almost anyone, over 18, can become a member.  Governance committee members are volunteers from all walks of life - everyone has experience and skills to offer.
  • An effective governance committee has people from different backgrounds and with a mix of skills.  No formal qualifications are needed to be a member.
  • Governance committee members are not education experts - they are there to offer a fresh perspective.

What makes a good governance committee member?

  • The ability to work in a team.
  • An interest in education and a commitment to the school.
  • Patience, energy and enthusiasm.
  • A willingness to listen, learn and to spend time in school.
  • A willingness to undertake training.


The LGC supports strategic direction of the school, and it also has direct responsibility for certain key areas, such as finance. The committee supports and challenges the leadership of St Thomas’. 


Local Governance Committee responsibilities 
Teaching and learning
Student well-being
Special Educational Needs
Pupil Premium
Child Protection
RE and Catholic ethos
Endorses Academy specific policies
Health and Safety
Approves and implements School specific policies
Assists with performance review of the Head teacher


This means, for example, that if you have concerns or questions about the financial management of St Thomas’, they should go to the Finance Lead Committee Member on the Local Governance Committee. You can always contact them through the school office.


The Local Governance Committee will be updating parents on their work at the beginning and end of each term as part of the school’s weekly newsletter. Our work is vital to development and well-being of our children. If you believe that you can make a contribution, please consider volunteering and serving with us.



NameCategoryDetails of Responsibility Date of Appointment                                    Appointing Body & Terms of Office
Catherine IngramFoundation MemberChair, Curriculum18/04/2019

Archdiocese of Southwark

18/04/2023 - 17/04/2027

Fr John DiverFoundation MemberCatholicity Character and Ethos18/01/2022

Archdiocese of Southwark



Madeleine BusvineStaff Member 22/09/2020

Elected by staff

22/09/2020 - 21/09/2024

Richard PiskorzFoundation Member

Finance Lead 


Archdiocese of Southwark

 26/07/2023 - 25/07/2027

David Milner-PearceFoundation  MemberSafeguarding Lead15/06/2021

Archdiocese of Southwark

15/06/2021 - 14/06/2025





Catholic character, and Ethos27/01/2023

Archdiocese of Southwark 

27/01/2023 -


Piotr Klimczak



CPD Lead03/03/2023

Elected by parents 

03/03/23 – 02/03/27

Margherita CarettaFoundation Member

Vice Chair 

SEN Lead

Pupil Premium


Archdiocese of Southwark

22/06/23 – 21/06/27

Aurea Longworth



Wellbeing 17/04/2024Elected by parents 17/04/2024 - 16/04/2028


Our Chair of Governors, Catherine Ingram, can be contacted by email:

The clerk to the committee, Anita Venezia Yau, can be contacted by email:

Copies of Governing Body minutes are available from the school office.


Messages from the Local Governance Committee

Our Mission and Values

'Learning in the Light of Christ'

Read Our Values And Ethos


Trust Information

St Thomas' Catholic School is an academy, and part of the Kent Catholic Schools’ Partnership. The Kent Catholic Schools’ Partnership is an exempt charity and a company limited by guarantee registered in England and Wales under company registration number 08176019 at registered address: Barham Court, Teston, Maidstone, Kent, ME18 5BZ. St Thomas’ Catholic School is a business name of Kent Catholic Schools’ Partnership.